Week Nine

A few happy discoveries this week…. 

My property has large lizards!

What a beauty. Walks past my bedroom every day at around 10:30. Right past where I wanted to put the chook house.. 

Last night I walked outside to find there were fireflies everywhere. It was pretty glorious. Tonight, no fireflies. The internet doesn’t seem to have much information for me on how to attract fireflies or what to expect of them. Any info welcome.

One of my grafts has been looking sad for the last … 12 months or so. I finally got around to doing something about it.. the pereskiopsis it was attatched to had rotted out some time ago.

The loph has been trying to root without any soil to root into.

Its still healthy, just a little dehydrated

This is one that was done at the same time and hasn’t rotted out. Lovely.

So when I cut the lophophora for grafting, it looked quite unusual. I haven’t seen the insides look like that before. Any thoughts?
It’s been a pretty quiet week for me, though I must say I have some wonderful new friends up this way.

I visited with a new friend I know off the shaman australis forums and was given lots of new healthy pereskiopsis stock for more grafting, and a beautiful grafted trich crest which I shall show off later. Thanks mate when you read this! 🙂

I pulled my finger out and planted a bunch of food/herb seeds.. small pots with moist soil was my method. I even labelled things this time. After three days I got impatient with nothing germinating so I tried putting some seeds in sphagnum moss inside take away containers to see if that would work any better. Turns out I didnt actually look at the pots very closely theres already giant sunflowers and chamomile coming up. Yay!

I have also been potting things up this week, I don’t yet know where I want to put things in their permanent place, so big pots in the meantime. Audrey, my permaculture consultant designer and friend is coming up in a few weeks to help me sort out my design. I would hate to put fruit trees down only to find out thats where the bulldozer needs to go.
Thats it for now. 

One thought on “Week Nine”

Leave a comment